How to Untag Yourself From Facebook Photos

At some stage during your Facebook journey, you’ll likely have had someone else tag you in a picture. And for some, there’s every chance that you might not have wanted this to happen.

You can only delete photos that you upload to Facebook. But if you don’t care for a photo of you that someone else uploaded, you can untag yourself. This will remove it from your profile and timeline.

In this article, you’ll find out how to untag yourself in photos on Facebook.

How to Find Your Photos on Facebook

From the Facebook homepage, select your name and profile picture from the banner menu across the top of the window to access your profile page. Then, select Photos from the banner menu under your profile photo and cover image. This section displays all of the photos that you are tagged in, no matter who uploaded them.

The thumbnail for each image should have a pencil icon in the upper right-hand corner. Click this to access the settings and options for that image. If you uploaded the picture, you can delete it. If you didn’t upload it, you will still have the option to untag yourself.

Whether you delete a photo or remove a tag, you get a special warning page first to give you the opportunity to rethink your decision. When this happens, confirm your choice.

Related: How to Make Your Photos Private on Facebook

What Happens When You Delete or Remove Tags in Facebook Photos?

When you delete a photo from Facebook, it’s gone forever.

Removing a tag from a picture is a little different. The photo still exists, but it will no longer appear among your photos. Furthermore, people who are friends with you—but not friends with the person who posted the photo—probably won’t see it either.

However, the photo will still be on Facebook. And unless you change your settings, someone could tag you in it later.

Related: How to Delete a Facebook Post (or Posts)

There’s Always More That You Can Do

In short, deleting photos gets rid of them for everyone. Untagging yourself in photos just allows you to pretend that those photos don’t exist anymore. Most of the time, that’s enough.

If you really need a photo deleted, but you don’t have access because you aren’t the original poster, you’ll have to ask the original poster to delete the photo permanently. If a photo is harmful to you in some way, and the poster won’t delete it, you may have to report the photo and the poster to Facebook in order to resolve the issue.

Author: Johnathan Jaehnig

Source: Johnathan Jaehnig.” How to Untag Yourself From Facebook Photos”. Retrieved From https://www.makeuseof.com/how-to-untag-yourself-on-facebook/

All Rights Of This Article Reserved To MakeUseOf

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: